www.thewickedsound.com Fat Freddys Drop Hope Lock In
Dub,  Electronica,  Featured releases,  Fresh sounds,  News,  Reggae,  Soul

Fat Freddy’s Drop announced a new album “LOCK-IN” and shared a new reimagined version of “Hope”

Fat Freddy's Drop announced a new album “LOCK-IN” and shared a new reimagined live version of “Hope”. A new album is based on the live session recorded at the iconic venue Michael Fowler Centre, where Fat Freddy's Drop re-located their BAYS studio and jammed with no audience. A sonic moment in time featuring eight tracks "Special Edition", "Six-Eight", "This Room", "Trickle Down", "Avengers", "Soldier", "Hope" & "OneFourteen". The track journeys through a hybrid of reggae, jazz with techno rhythms underpinning Freddy’s signature horns and Joe Dukie’s soulful and introspective vocal. Songs on their studio albums are versions refined over years of playing them live in New Zealand and on tour abroad. The same happened with this album, a single track was previously released on the band's debut album “Based On A True Story” and “Hope For A Generation” EP, both released on Sonar Kollektiv.

Watch below a video to Fat Freddys Drop new reimagined live version of the song “Hope”, from his forthcoming new album “LOCK-IN”:

Fat Freddy's Drop is a New Zealand seven-piece band from Wellington, whose musical style has been characterized as any combination of dub, reggae, soul, jazz, rhythm and blues, and techno. Fat Freddy's Drop are known for their improvised live performances.

"Live performance is the most natural state for music," according to trumpeter Toby Laing. Most songs begin as rhythm on Faiumu's MPC, and more sections are progressively added during jam sessions. Songs featured on the band's albums and singles are versions that have been refined over years of playing them in the studio, live in Wellington, and on tour abroad. Faiumu said that, "on their first studio album, it was challenging to fit the long songs the band is used to playing into shorter album-length tracks".

Listen below to Fat Freddys Drop new reimagined live version of the song “Hope”, from his forthcoming new album “LOCK-IN”:

Fat Freddys Drop new album “LOCK-IN” is out on 16th October 2020, digitally, with a vinyl edition to follow.



Dallas Tamaira ("Joe Dukie") – vocals, guitar

Chris Faiumu ("DJ Fitchie") – percussion, production

Toby Laing ("Tony Chang") – trumpet

Tehimana Kerr ("Jetlag Johnson") – guitar

Iain Gordon ("Dobie Blaze") – keyboards

Joe Lindsay ("Hopepa") – trombone, tuba

Scott Towers ("Chopper Reedz") – saxophone



  1. Special Edition
  2. Six-Eight
  3. This Room
  4. Trickle Down
  5. Avengers
  6. Soldier
  7. Hope
  8. OneFourteen.


Other wicked songs and projects worth checking this week:

Ludivine Issambourg, Mr Gib - No More - Mr Gib Remix

Diamond C, Leroy Horns, Ricketscience - Point of Contact

Potatohead People, De La Soul, Posdnuos, Kapok - Baby Got Work

Emmaline - Ladylike

Jackson Mathod - Spanish Bifter

The Ncy Milky Band - Burn’IN

Surprise Chef - Deadlines

Andrew Ashong, Kaidi Tatham - Washed In You

Maisha - Open the Gates

Joy Crookes - You & Me Song

Jab- 6 Degrees of Separation

Nubiyan Twist, CHERISE - Tittle Tattle

WorldService Project - Deeper

Million Square - Jenova

Pink Freud - Pink Sunrise

The Diabolical Liberties, Emma-Jean Thackray - High Protection

Hypnotic Brass Ensemble - SHOWTIME

Takuya Kuroda - TKBK

Okvsho - LS Shuffle

Kosmo Sound – Rank


One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *