www.thewickedsound.com The Brand New Heavies TBNH These Walls

The Brand New Heavies joined forces with N’Dea Davenport and Mark Ronson to cover Kendrick Lamar’s ‘These Walls’

The Brand New Heavies joined forces with N’Dea Davenport and Mark Ronson to cover Kendrick Lamar’s "These Walls". Proper hit. They managed to turn this hip hop banger into a funky soulful 70s style song with beautiful melodies and amazing horn arrangement.


The Brand New Heavies long time fan multi-instrumentalist, producer, DJ, and singer/songwriter Mark Ronson joined them in the studio to make soulful re-edition of Kendrick Lamar’s hit "These Walls" from his highly acclaimed 2015 album "To Pimp A Butterfly". On this track, vocal duties took the band’s most famous singer N'Dea Davenport.

TBNH after Jan Kincaid's departure is a duo made of songwriters and multi-instrumentalist Simon Bartholomew and Andrew Levy. The band was the most popular with N'Dea Davenport in the first half of the 90s becoming one of the most successful acid jazz/UK funk groups of all time. N'Dea re-joined the band for their 2016 tour when previous singer Dawn Joseph and the drummer and co-lead vocalist, and one of the founding members Jan Kincaid left the group. On this record, Bartholomew & Levy collaborated with an impressive list of guest vocalists including Siedah Garrett, Honey LaRochelle, Beverly Knight, Angie Stone, current vocalist Angela Ricci, labelmate Laville and mentioned already Davenport.

‘These Walls’ is a band second single after ‘Getaway’ from the new album called ‘TBNH’ which will be out 6th September on Acid Jazz Records.


ARTIST: Brand New Heavies



YEAR: 2019

Due in on 6th September 2019


GENRE: acid jazz, jazz, soul jazz, soul, funk, soul-funk



1 Beautiful feat. Beverley Knight

2 Stupid Love feat. Angela Ricci

3 Just Believe In You feat. Siedah Garrett

4 Getaway feat. N’Dea Davenport

5 Heat feat. Honey Larochelle

6 The Funk Is Back feat. Simon Bartholomew

7 Together feat. Angie Stone

8 These Walls feat. N’Dea Davenport

9 It's My Destiny feat. Siedah Garrett

10 Wired Up feat. N’Dea Davenport

11 Dance It Out feat. Angela Ricci

12  Little Dancer feat. Jack Knight

13  Dontcha Wanna feat. Laville

14  Get On The Right Side feat. Angela Ricci



N'Dea Davenport

Simon Bartholomew

Andrew Levy

Mark Ronson


BUY  Amazon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *