www.thewickedsound.com Aver and Move 78 The Algorithm Smiles Upon You Sanctuary
.,  Beats,  Featured releases,  Fresh sounds,  Jazz,  News

Fresh Sounds: Aver & Move78 – Sanctuary

Berlin-based jazz band Aver & Move 78 released a new single Sanctuary from their forthcoming debut EP The Algorithm Smiles Upon You (Village Live Records). The album is a divine collection of solid hip-hop beats with jazzy instrumentation, unveiling the new layers of sound with every listen. Fantastic debut album and a great introduction of the band to the global nu jazz music scene.

Aver & Move 78 are a Berlin-based four-piece jazz band consisting of Doron Segal on keyboards, Nir Sabag on drums, Hal Strewe on bass and Aver on sampler and production. The eight tracks of their EP are crafted from hours of studio improvisations, that have then been chopped-up, rearranged, and layered with additional strings, flute and horns. This many-layered approach has helped create the band's signature sound: a balance between free-flowing jazz and automated, programmed hip-hop. The initial singles released from the EP have received national radio play in the UK (BBC 6 Music), editorial play-listing on Spotify, and the band has recently been given a fortnightly radio show on the new Berlin station Refuge Worldwide. The EP will be available on the 2nd of April 2021 in a limited edition run of 300 vinyl copies, in both transparent and black vinyl.

The band's debut EP features a number of additional musicians: Saxophonist Omri Abramov (Niogi), French horn player Merav Goldman (Divan Orchestra), Violin player Geoff Kemback (Future Boogie), Flautist Roy Amotz (Geneva Camerata), with guitarists Christian Kuhn (Kuhn Fu) and Marcin Wieczorek (Cassette Heads).


Listen to Aver & Move 78 new single Sanctuary from their forthcoming debut EP The Algorithm Smiles Upon You:

Aver, Doron and Nir met in Berlin in 2017. They began hanging out as friends initially and would endlessly talk about music until eventually, they began collaborating, the first instances of which can be found on Dressed For CCTV, Aver's second LP with UK-based label Village Live Records. Months before the album's release in 2018, the trio began rehearsing for live shows, re-working Aver's hip-hop instrumentals with a more jazz-orientated style. Later, Hal Strewe was recruited on bass and Move 78 was formed.

Prior to Move 78, Doron, Nir and Hal were fixtures in the Berlin jazz scene, hosting jams and live events, as well as touring with their own groups and playing in various other bands. Most notably, Doron and Nir were part of J.Lamotta's live band (Jakarta Records) playing gigs across Europe and Asia, and Hal was in the Australian funk band Leisure Bandits. Aver released his own hip-hop records independently with The Natural Curriculum in the UK. He signed with Village Live Records shortly after moving to Berlin in 2016 and has released four LPs and one EP since then.


Watch below Aver & Move 78 new single Sanctuary from their forthcoming debut EP The Algorithm Smiles Upon You:

Other wicked songs and projects worth checking this week:


Shane Savala, Brian Ward, Eric Hagstrom, Jason Fabus - Sunday Traffic

Joe Armon-Jones - Golden Brown

Tracy Sada - I'll Stay

Anderson .Paak & Bruno Mars - Leave The Door Open

Nubiyan Twist, Ria Moran - Morning Light

Spirit Fingers - Inside (Tiny Room Sessions)

Daniel Casimir - Safe, Pt. 1

Vincent Herring - Dudli's Dilemma

Chris Potter - Southbound

Enrico Morello - Quite Close

Hiatus Kaiyote - Get Sun (feat Arthur Verocai)

GoGo Penguin - F Maj Pixie - Squarepusher Remix

Dj Toner, Erik Truffaz - Kintsugi

Tony Allen, Ben Okri, Skepta - Cosmosis

Certified Craftsmen - Monkey See, Monkey Do

Toots & The Maytals - Freedom Train - Samantha Ronson & Peter Nappi Remix

Remi Wolf, Dominic Fike - Photo ID

Too Many Zooz - Pink Yesterday

The Brand New Heavies - Dream Come True - Live

Lucky Chops - Hoodoos at Sunrise – Live

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.