www.thewickedsound.com Marvin Gaye.
Concert,  Featured releases,  Jazz,  News,  R'n'B,  Soul

Marvin Gaye timeless song “What’s Going On” is still relevant today

Marvin Gaye's timeless song “What’s Going On” is still relevant today. This week was an anniversary of birth and death of one of the biggest artists ever, one and only Marvin Gaye. His amazing song “What’s Going On” still sounds like the best soundtrack to the situation right now around the world.


“Mother, mother

There's too many of you crying

Brother, brother, brother

There's far too many of you dying

You know we've got to find a way

To bring some lovin' here today, eh eh”


The only recorded full live performance of Marvin Gaye landmark 1971 album “What’s Going On” was released last year as a standalone release by Motown.

The album was recorded at the Kennedy Centre in his home town of Washington during the city’s Marvin Gaye Day on 1 May 1972. Unfortunately, that record was then shelved for decades, only to be released as a bonus track until 2019.

It was his first concert in four years. He stopped performing live after the tragic early death of his friend and Motown recording partner Tammi Terrell. “I understood that I’d been punishing myself by staying away so long. I’d been denying myself love, and that’s one of the most foolish things a man can do” he said.


Listen to Marvin Gaye singing live “What’s Going On” below:

He commented on Marvin Gaye Day: “It was certainly the biggest day of my parents’ life. Here they came to Washington in the thirties without a penny, and their son was being honored by the mayor as some sort of hero. At least on this one day, I felt like I made Father proud.”

13 years later Gaye intervened in a fight between his parents on the afternoon of April 1 and he became involved in a fight with his father Marvin Gay Sr. His father shot Marvin twice in the heart in Gaye's bedroom, one day short of his 45th birthday.


Watch Marvin Gaye singing live “What’s Going On” below:

Marvin Gaye live album “What’s Going On” tracklist:


  1. Sixties Medley 13:16

That’s The Way Love Is / You / I Heard It Through The Grapevine / Little Darling (I Need You) / You’re All I Need To Get By / Ain’t Nothing Like The Real Thing / Your Precious Love / Pride And Joy / Stubborn Kind Of Fellow



  1. Right On 7:33
  2. Wholy Holy 3:32
  3. Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler) 9:06



  1. What’s Going On 5:42
  2. What’s Happening Brother 2:54
  3. Flyin’ High (In The Friendly Sky) 3:51
  4. Save The Children 4:22
  5. God Is Love 1:43



  1. Stage Dialogue 2:34
  2. Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler) (Reprise) 5:12
  3. What’s Going On (Reprise) 4:12


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *