www.thewickedsound.com Apifera L.O.V.E
.,  Featured releases,  Jazz,  News,  Song of the Day

Song of the Day: Apifera – L.O.V.E.

Los Angeles electronic jazz project Apifera shared a new single L.O.V.E., from the band's new EP 6 Visits released by Stones Throw Records.

Apifera’s 6 Visits EP offers a glimpse of the electronic jazz quartet’s “musical DNA” with interpretations of tracks by Madlib, Duke Ellington, Massive Attack, Sergei Prokofiev, Sunbear, McCoy Tyner, and Squarepusher. For their debut album Overstand, Apifera embraced an improvisatory and live sound, writing and recording the album in three days. On 6 Visits, the group took a different approach, challenging themselves to work within the limitations of other artists’ work and implementing new elements in our musical vocabulary. The EP’s artwork, by artist Hillel Eflal, portrays a humanoid within nature – symbolic of Apifera’s distinct blend of electronic sounds with organic arrangements.

The group’s influences range from the folk music of their home country Israel, to Impressionist composers Ravel and Satie, traditional music from Sudan and Ghana, and the transcendental jazz of Sun Ra. Working intuitively, the quartet wrote and recorded Overstand mostly live in just three days, and the final album includes minimal overdubbing. Orchestrating is a big part of our sound, says Nitai. We paid a lot of attention to the textures, discussing timbres and temperatures in detail throughout the recording process.



Listen to Apifera  new single L.O.V.E., from the band's latest EP album 6 Visits:

Apifera is Nitai Hershkovits (keys), Yuval Havkin aka Rejoicer (keys), Amir Bresler (drums) and Yonatan Albalak (bass). Accomplished artists in their own right, the four musicians have joined forces as a new jazz group whose organic-sounding structures, harmonies and arrangements are intended to reflect the rich variety and equilibrium of the natural world


Watch below Apifera  new single L.O.V.E., from the band's latest EP album 6 Visits:

Other wicked songs and projects worth checking this week:


Elusive - Delicate Beauty

Scrimshire, Miryam Solomon - Heron - Radio Edit

FKAjazz - No Lonely Nights

Makaya McCraven - Ecaroh

Myele Manzanza - Peaks & Ferns

Jimi Tenor, UMO Helsinki Jazz Orchestra - Jyrkänteellä

Ilmiliekki Quartet - Follow the Damn Breadcrumbs

Bodo Maier - Roadrunner

Tomasz Dąbrowski, The Individual Beings - Troll

Alfa Mist - First Light

Aldorande - La promesse au soleil

The Kahil El'Zabar Quartet - Eddie Harris

Unc D - traditional phobia

Redtenbacher's Funkestra, Horn House - Old Blood

MED, Blu, Madlib, Anderson .Paak - The Strip

Thiago França - Bodiado

MEUTE - Expanse

Triorität, Noa Erni - The Mental Traveller Theme - Triorität Session

Atjazz, Mark de Clive-Lowe - Awake We Stay

The Sure Fire Soul Ensemble - Step Down

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.