www.thewickedsound.com Chelsea Carmichael Fractuals All We Know remix Shabaka Hutchings [Native Rebel Recordings] 9Photo credit Adam Jollah)
.,  Featured releases,  Jazz,  News,  Song of the Day

Song of the Day: Chelsea Carmichael – Fractuals

Following the release of her stunning debut album, saxophonist Chelsea Carmichael announces All We Know EP with a new instrumental track Fractuals.

Off the back of releasing her stunning debut album, The River Doesn’t Like Strangers last year on Shabaka Hutchings’ new label Native Rebel Recordings, Saxophonist Chelsea Carmichael drops a new track Fractuals as part of her new EP All We Know, same as the album recorded with Eddie Hick (Sons of Kemet), Dave Okumu (The Invisible) and Tom Herbert (The Invisible; Polar Bear).

Chelsea is a Conservatoire-trained musician who has already been part of a Mercury-nominated band - she played on SEED Ensemble’s 2019 Driftglass - and currently plays with Theon Cross, the Neue Grafik Ensemble and arranges for her own Chelsea Carmichael Ensemble. Following a performance together in May 2019 at the Total Refreshment Centre-affiliated Church of Sound with South African band The Brother Moves On, Shabaka noted Chelsea’s potential and invited her to record the first release on the new label.


Listen to Chelsea Carmichael new song Fractuals, from her new EP All We Know:

Chelsea has also been announced as part of a BBC 6 Music Gilles Peterson 3 hour special from the New York Winter Jazz Festival this Saturday at 3.00pm where she will line up alongside live music and interviews from Ezra Collective, Yazmin Lacey, Emma-Jean Thackray and Tawiah recorded at his UK showcase at Le Poisson Rouge.


Watch below video to Chelsea Carmichael new song Fractuals, from her new EP All We Know:

Other wicked songs and projects worth checking this week:


Sélène Saint-Aimé - Arawak Uhuru

Anne Paceo - Reste un oiseau

Jas Kayser, Ava Joseph - Darkness In The Light

Nick Walters - Cosmos

Helge Lien Trio - Gamut Warning Revisited

Alina Bzhezhinska, HipHarpCollective - Soul Vibrations

E.J. Strickland - Language Of The Unheard

Chelsea Carmichael - Fractuals

Christian McBride - Brouhaha

Joanne Brackeen - Cram 'N Exam

Vega Trails - Epic Dream


GoGo Penguin - Ascent

Cito Kaling, young.vishnu, Pachakuti - Phantasma

Gianni Brezzo - Il Sole

Nicola Conte, Gianluca Petrella - Inner Light Joaquin Joe Claussell Sacred Rhythm

Fieh - Fast Food

Redtenbacher's Funkestra - Squid Exit Music - 7 radio edit

Kresten Osgood - Når lyset bryder frem

Flammer Dance Band - Den Hvite By


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *