www.thewickedsound.com Thundercat it is what it is
Featured releases,  Funk,  Jazz,  News

Thundercat shared new single “Black Qualls” and announced his fourth studio album “It Is What It Is”.

Thundercat on his new song, “Black Qualls”, build a link between past and future in funk music. He teamed up with Steve Lacy (from The Internet) and funk icon Steve Arrington (from Slave).

The song will appear on Thundercat’s new album, “It Is What It Is”, out 3rd od April on Brainfeeder.

There will be also a different version of “Black Qualls” on “It Is What It Is” that will feature additional contributions from Childish Gambino.

The 15-track record is executive produced by both Thundercat and his frequent collaborator Flying Lotus, same as his last, 2017 album, “Drunk”.  “What It Is” features contributions from Kamasi Washington, Steve Lacy, Steve Arrington, BADBADNOTGOOD, Flying Lotus, and Childish Gambino.

Stephen Lee Bruner, aka Thundercat, described his new album: “This album is about love, loss, life and the ups and downs that come with that. It’s a bit tongue-in-cheek, but at different points in life you come across places that you don’t necessarily understand… some things just aren’t meant to be understood.”

Watch video to Thundercat (and Steve Lacy) on his new song “Black Qualls” from the upcoming album “It Is What It Is” below:

Thundercat forms a cornerstone of the Brainfeeder label; he released “Golden Age of Apocalypse” (2011), “Apocalypse” (2013), followed by EP “The Beyond / Where The Giants Roam” featuring the modern classic “Them Changes”. He was later “at the creative epicenter” of the 21st century’s most influential hip-hop album Kendrick Lamar’s “To Pimp A Butterfly”, where he won a Grammy for his collaboration on the track “These Walls” before releasing his game-changing third album “Drunk” in 2017.

Listen to Thundercat (and Steve Lacy) on his new song “Black Qualls” from the upcoming album “It Is What It Is” below:

Thundercat new album “It Is What It Is” will come out through Brainfeeder on 3rd April 2020.


  1. Lost In Space / Great Scott / 22-26
  2. Innerstellar Love
  3. I Love Louis Cole (feat. Louis Cole)
  4. Black Qualls (feat. Steve Lacy, Steve Arrington, & Childish Gambino)
  5. Miguel’s Happy Dance
  6. How Sway
  7. Funny Thing
  8. Overseas (feat. Zack Fox)
  9. Dragonball Durag
  10. How I Feel
  11. King Of The Hill
  12. Unrequited Love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *