Afrobeat,  Featured releases,  Jazz,  New album,  New song,  New video,  News

Tony Allen has announced a new album “Rejoice”, recorded with Hugh Masekela.

Tony Allen has announced a new album “Rejoice”, recorded with Hugh Masekela. Two legends of African music released together. Tony Allen, the Nigerian master drummer, member and musical director of Fela Anikulapo Kuti’s band Africa ’70, and the co-founder of Afrobeat. Hugh Masekela, South Africa’s legendary trumpet player, considered to be the father of South African jazz.

The two great musicians met back in the ’70s, thanks to their respective close associations with Fela Kuti and they had talked about making an album together ever since. It wasn’t until 2010 when they happened to both be in the U.K. at the same time, and they were able to get together to work out a series of original compositions.

When, in 2010, their touring schedules coincided in the UK, the moment presented itself and producer Nick Gold took the opportunity to record their encounter. The unfinished sessions, consisting of all original compositions by the pair, lay in an archive until after Hugh passed away in 2018.

‘We’ve Landed” is the lead single taken from their upcoming album. You can listen to it below.

With the blessing of Masekela’s estate, Allen and producer Nick Gold resumed recording in 2019 at the same London studio where the original sessions had taken place. Allen and Masekela are accompanied on the record by a new generation of well-respected jazz musicians including Tom Herbert (Acoustic Ladyland / The Invisible), Joe Armon-Jones (Ezra Collective), Mutale Chashi (Kokoroko) and Steve Williamson.

 “Ten years is a long time from beginning to end of [making] an album, but my own philosophy is that everything eventually appears at the right time, for a reason.”

Tony Allen released his last album, “The Source” (2017). “Rejoice” is the first posthumous release from Masekela, his final album was “No Borders” from 2016.

Allen will perform songs from “Rejoice” with a specially assembled band at two intimate shows at London’s Church of Sound on 12th and 13th March, with tickets now available.

Tony Allen has announced a new album “Rejoice”, recorded with Hugh Masekela. This special collaborative new album will come out through World Circuit on 20th March 2020.

Photo credit: Brett Rubin & Bernard Benant


01 Robbers, Thugs and Muggers (O’Galajani)

02 Agbada Bougou

03 Coconut Jam

04 Never (Lagos Never Gonna Be the Same)

05 Slow Bones

06 Jabulani (Rejoice, Here Comes Tony)

07 Obama Shuffle Strut Blues

08 We’ve Landed

Buy it here:

Tony Allen Hugh Masekela
Tony Allen
Hugh Masekela

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: