www.thewickedsound.com Ruby Rushton Sun Khosi
Featured releases,  Funk,  Jazz,  News

22a present new two-track 7″ single “Sun Khosi / Chrysalis” from the Tenderlonious-led jazz quartet Ruby Rushton

22a present new two-track 7" single “Sun Khosi / Chrysalis" from the Tenderlonious-led jazz quartet Ruby Rushton. The band kicked down the door for the UK jazz renaissance back in 2015, and continue to lead the way in 2020 with this electrifying new recording. It’s joyous, energetic afrobeat infused fusion jazz. Somewhere between Fela Kuti, Herbie Hancock’s Headhunters, and Yusef Lateef.

“Sun Khosi" is a tribute to Tenderlonious 's father who spent many years in Nepal working as a Gurkha officer. the name is taken from one of the most famous rivers in Nepal, which runs through the Himalayas.

Listen to Ruby Rushton new song “Sun Khosi” below:

Tenderlonious made three solo albums to be released this year, first one more electronic “After the Storm” came out already in April. “The Piccolo - Tender plays Tubby" is a re-interpretation of four classic Tubby Hayes track on Tubby's own piccolo. The album will come out on 29th May 2020 via Jazz Detective. "Tender In Lahore" is a collaboration with Jaubi, an instrumental quartet from Pakistan, and polish key player Marek Pedziwiatr (EABS, Bloto).

Nick Walters delivered in January one of the best UK jazz albums this year. Album is called "Active Imagination", and was recorded with Tenderlonious and drummer Max Hallett aka Betamax Killer (The Comet Is Coming, Soccer96).

Listen to Ruby Rushton new song “Sun Khosi” below:

Ruby Rushton new two-track 7" single “Sun Khosi / Chrysalis" came out through 22a on 20th May 2020. Both new tracks are taken from the band’s upcoming studio album, set to arrive in November 2020.


Edward Cawthorne - flute, percussion, synthesizer

Nick Walters - trumpet, percussion

Aidan Shepherd - Fender Rhodes, Nord Stage, synthesizer

Tim Carnegie - drums

Other wicked songs and projects worth checking this week:

Wanubalé - Nadra

Blundetto - Sunday in the Club

Khruangbin - Time (You and I)

Ruby Rushton - Sun Khosi

The Fearless Flyers - Nate Smith Is the Ace of Aces

Maceo Parker - The Cross The Track

Menahan Street Band - Queens Highway

Polyrhythmics - The Cutdown

Les Frères Smith, Seun Kuti - No Waiting

Olivier St.Louis - Runnin' Wild

Flevans, Laura Vane - Ten Feet Tall

Ambrose Akinmusire - Mr. Roscoe (consider the simultaneous)

Aaron Parks - Attention, Earthlings

Christian Sands, Marcus Strickland - Drive

Christian McBride Big Band - Don Is

Joe Downard, Alex Hitchcock - Terror

Quantum Trio - This Far

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *