Featured releases,  Fresh sounds,  Funk,  Jazz,  News

Wanubale shared an energetic new single “Nadra / Loose Focus”

Wanubale shared an energetic new single “Nadra / Loose Focus”. The band is a collective of 9 young musicians based in Berlin and Potsdam. They met at school, five of the nine in the band went to the same musical high school in Berlin. Heavily inspired by the cities' fresh Jazz scene and distinct club culture they set up this wonderful and fresh musical project. Influences come from Jazz, Neo Soul, and Funk one side, and Dub, Bass Music and Broken Beat from the other. A unique mixture of styles and vital energy onto the stage helped to shape their compositions.

Watch the video to Wanubale new song “Nadra / Loose Focus below:

“Nadra / Loose Focus” is a very natural evolution of the ideas and impressions Wanubale got after releasing their first album in 2019 and a step closer towards their vision of the band's sound. As for the debut album "Phosphenes", this single has been recorded at the Jazzanova Studios in Berlin, but this time they put a bigger effort into the postproduction. The two tracks differ massively in their kind of groove and their influences but they show their common language with their own little twist on it.

Listen to Wanubale new song “Nadra / Loose Focus” below:

Wanubale shared an energetic new single “Nadra / Loose Focus” is available via Agogo Records.



Gabriel Rosenbach (tpt)

Niko Zeidler (ts)

Jonathan Steffen (tb)

Anton Kowalski (bar)

Max Feig (el-g) ·

Moses Yoofee Vester (key)

Moritz Schmolke (b-g)

Heinrich Eiszmann (dr)

Philip Schilz (dr)

Other wicked songs and projects worth checking this week:

Wanubalé - Nadra

Blundetto - Sunday in the Club

Khruangbin - Time (You and I)

Ruby Rushton - Sun Khosi

The Fearless Flyers - Nate Smith Is the Ace of Aces

Maceo Parker - The Cross The Track

Menahan Street Band - Queens Highway

Polyrhythmics - The Cutdown

Les Frères Smith, Seun Kuti - No Waiting

Olivier St.Louis - Runnin' Wild

Flevans, Laura Vane - Ten Feet Tall

Ambrose Akinmusire - Mr. Roscoe (consider the simultaneous)

Aaron Parks - Attention, Earthlings

Christian Sands, Marcus Strickland - Drive

Christian McBride Big Band - Don Is

Joe Downard, Alex Hitchcock - Terror

Quantum Trio - This Far

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *