www.thewickedsound.com Allysha Joy Light It Again Better
Featured releases,  Fresh sounds,  Jazz,  News,  Soul

Allysha Joy from 30/70 Collective announces a new EP album “Light It Again” with a new single “Better”

Allysha Joy from 30/70 Collective announces a new EP album “Light It Again” via First Word Records,  with a new single “Better”. The EP album contains 4 songs produced and engineered by Grammy-nominated Hiatus Kaiyote drummer Clever Austin.

“Light It Again” features accompaniment from an all-star set of Melbourne artists; Horatio Luna, Ziggy Zeitgeist, Danika Smith and Josh Kelly. Horatio, Ziggy and Josh are also Allysha’s band members in 30/70 Collective. Across a variety of grooves and deep lyricism, this EP touches on love, shame, mental health, grief & spirituality. It also marks a new sound for a Allysha,  transmitting her honest and raw expression through the signature crunch and sonic landscape of Clever Austin.

Watch below a video to Allysha Joy new song “Better”, the new single from their forthcoming EP album “Light It Again”:

“It's about catching myself pointing the finger outwards to challenge social / political systems and certain individuals, then coming to the realisation that I must turn that finger back on myself to ask, "how can I do better, how can I know better?" Allysha says about the song.

Allysha is already well established across Europe, performing on the live circuit alongside the likes of Sampa the Great, Matthew Halsall, Ezra Collective, Bradley Zero and Children of Zeus, as well as currently hosting two regular radio shows, on Worldwide FM and Reform Radio in Manchester respectively.

Her 2018 debut album "Acadie : Raw" on Gondwana Records won "Best Soul Album" at the Music Victoria Awards, was nominated for a Worldwide Award, and featured in many an end-of-year list, including Bandcamp’s Top Soul Albums, whilst she’s also featured on releases on UK labels such as Rhythm Section, Total Refreshment Centre and now an EP for First Word, "Light It Again".

Listen below to Allysha Joy new song “Better”, the new single from their forthcoming EP album “Light It Again”:

Allysha Joy new EP album “Light It Again” will come out on 20th Novemebr 2020, via First Word Records.



 Allysha Joy - Vocals

Horatio Luna - Bass

Ziggy Zeitgeist - Drums

Josh Kelly - Saxophones

Danika Smith



1. Watercolours

2. Light It Again

3. Better

4. Mardi

Other wicked songs and projects worth checking this week:


Alecia Renece - Sing (La la La)

Hemai, Laura Roy, Woddy Green - Relight

Moo Latte - Pool Universe

Byron the Aquarius, Rasheeda Ali, Lil' John Roberts, Sheldon Ferguson - Spirit of Juju

Raynald Colom - When Logan Meets Miro

The Dave Brubeck Quartet - Blue Rondo à la Turk (Previously Unreleased)

Ben Wendel - Fearsome

Chris Potter - Rising Over You

Xvngo, Master Mac - Prelude (Jazz Drill)

Nels Cline - Segunda

AKU! - Dub Ting

Bandler Ching - Pine Crest

Kosmo Sound - Yeasterdub

Red Astaire, Dynamite MC - Suga Dumplin'

Blend Mishkin, Sugahspank! - I Grow

Ancient Astronauts, MoRoots - Tebamanyi

Alex Blair, Hgns, MonoNeon - Hittin' It!

Chali 2na, Choklate - Keep Goin' - 2020 Version

Common, Black Thought, PJ - Say Peace

Made Kuti - Free Your Mind


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *