www.thewickedsound.com Nicola Conte Gianluca Petrella Hold On To Your Dreams (feat. Debo Ray) People Need People
.,  Exclusive Premiere,  Featured releases,  Jazz,  News,  Soul

Exclusive Premiere: Nicola Conte & Gianluca Petrella – Hold On To Your Dreams (feat. Debo Ray)

We have the great pleasure to host the exclusive world premiere of Nicola Conte & Gianluca Petrella's new single Hold On To Your Dreams, featuring Debo Ray on vocal. The song is from their forthcoming brand new album People Need People.

The opening track of the new album is a slow tempo ballad with a smooth and mellow vocal of Debo Ray singing a positive and uplifting message to "hold to your dreams". It's a really dreamy song, but in a good way, with a soft trumpet solo and delicate vibraphone sound in the background. The rhythm section keeps the tempo with the little subtle echo of some cosmic noises, turning the song slowly into more typical for this band's nu-jazz direction.

Italian musicians and jazz revivalists Nicola Conte & Gianluca Petrella are back on Schema Records with a new album, the first in sixteen years. This is how many years left since the release of groundbreaking New Standards. Since the beginning of their collaboration, Conte and Petrella’s goal was to maintain an open concept of sound influenced by a wide-ranging taste in music and their ability to realize collaborative conceptions with a mindful array of artists. For the most part recorded in Puglia, Italy, People Need People is the result of a constantly evolving research and artistic exchange, that has been able to cross borders during its development.


From our Blog: Italian musicians Nicola Conte and Gianluca Petrella team up again on a new single “The Higher Love”

From our Blog: Song of the Day: The Invisible Session – People All Around The World Can Make It


Buy album

Listen below to exclusive world premiere of Nicola Conte & Gianluca Petrella's new single Hold On To Your Dreams, featuring Debo Ray:

Sonically the project is conceived as a collective creative experience drawing on Conte & Petrella’s early influences from soul, spiritual Afro-jazz, and research on modern electronic sounds, disco and hip-hop, the album’s 11 tracks feature a cosmopolitan ensemble of musicians including MC/poet Raashan Ahmad (USA), pianist & composer Nduduzo Makhathini (South Africa), multi-instrumentalist & composer Magnus Lindgren (Sweden), singer & educator Débo Ray (USA), singer, vocalist & songwriter Bridgette Amofah (Ghana/ England), percussionist Abdissa Assefa (Ethiopia/Finland), drummer & composer Teppo Mäkynen (Finland), vibraphonist Pasquale Mirra (Italy), percussionist & drummer Simone Padovani (Italy), and Italian rising stars such as singer & producer Davide Shorty, pianist & singer Carolina Bubbico, drummer & producer Tommaso Cappellato, pianist Seby Burgio, trumpeter Mirco Rubegni, and saxophonist Pasquale Calò.


Watch below a video of Nicola Conte & Gianluca Petrella's title track from the forthcoming album People Need People, featuring Davide Shorty & Carolina Bubbico::

Other wicked songs and projects worth checking this week:


Alan Braufman - Sunrise - Angel Bat Dawid Sunset Remix

Adrian Younge - The American Negro

John Carroll Kirby - Blueberry Beads - Live at The Blue Whale

Azymuth - Rico Suave Bossa Nova

Myele Manzanza - Portobello Superhero

Yusuke Shima - Adhesion

Tamil Rogeon, Rita Satch - Bad Sandals

Aratita Electronik Jazz Quintet - Uruk

Timo Lassy, Teppo Makynen - Solution Black (Live)

Sercan Debelec - Sirens


Xvngo - Faust (Jazz Drill)

Nubya Garcia - The Message Continues - Mark de Clive-Lowe Remix

Han Litz, Lex Empress - Sun

Djosa - Echoes - Original Mix

Trioritat x Lukas Lehmann - Olk

Hoodna Orchestra - Alem Alem

Cory Wong - Merci

H.E.R. - Fight For You

Toots & The Maytals - Got To Be Tough - Until The Ribbon Breaks Re-Imagination

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.