www.thewickedsound.com Don Kapot TV
.,  Featured releases,  Fresh sounds,  Jazz,  News

Fresh sounds: Don Kapot – TV

The Brussels-based trio Don Kapot released their new single TV, from the band's new album Hooligan.

The band released their first EP on Mr. Nakayasi Records in 2018. They recently teamed up with the Belgian jazz / not jazz label W.E.R.F. Records, with whom they released a limited edition cassette Don Kaset in October 2020. On March 26th they proudly present the release of a new full album: Hooligan. The album contains seven collectively written songs and takes the listener on an adventurous instrumental journey full of steaming grooves, unbridled joy in the game, and humor. The album can be heard as a completely unhinged and idiosyncratic mix of punk, jazz, afrobeat, and all this with a hint of spirituality.

Listen to Don Kapot new single TV, from the band's new album Hooligan:

After playing and touring together in Oghene Kologbo's band for a while, drummer Jacob Warmenbol and bassist Giotis Damianidis decided to join forces with baritone saxophonist Viktor Perdieus and Don Kapot was born in 2016. From joint improvisations, own compositions quickly emerged which blended the different musical backgrounds of each band member. It soon became clear that this musical cocktail would effortlessly breakthrough all genre walls and that Don Kapot has as much in common with experimental rock bands like Deerhoof or King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard as with adventurous jazz trios like those of Ornette Coleman. Influences from afrobeat, punk and krautrock are some of the main ingredients of this adventurous trio.


Watch below Don Kapot new single TV, from the band's new album Hooligan:

Other wicked songs and projects worth checking this week:


Malik Alston & Painted Pictures - Air

Jason Joshua - Se Acabó

Agustin Pereyra Lucena Quartet - La Rana

Matthias Lindermayr - Sanctuary

Bremer/McCoy - Gratitude

Scrimshire - Morning Affirmation

Michael Kiwanuka - Beautiful Life - Edit

Jack Herer - Take Too Long

Al-jiçç - Zadar

Rude Skøtt Osborn Trio - L'Ombra Blu

Ego Ella May - YoYo

DECAP, Kiefer, Kyla Moscovich - Family

Ivo Neame, Ingrid Jensen - Strega

Myele Manzanza - The People's Changes

Remulak,Wilczynski - Sauvignon Blanc

SGJAZZ,Dr. Dundiff - Inside Out

Joy Crookes - Trouble

Move 78, Aver, Aquiles Navarro - Hectic As...

Bo!led - Blue Room

corto.alto - Brotherhood

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *