www.thewickedsound.com Emma Rawicz Voodoo
.,  Featured releases,  Fresh sounds,  Jazz,  News

Fresh Sounds: Emma Rawicz – Voodoo

London's rising jazz star Emma Rawicz released her first single Voodoo, from her forthcoming debut album.

Voodoo is a driving, jazz-funk-infused track. It features angular, grooving melodies, clever interplay between instrumentation and burning solos from Scottie Thompson (piano), Ant Law (guitar) and Emma (saxophone). An original composition with shades of Chris Potter, Wayne Shorter and Kenny Garrett.

Emma’s influences range from modern jazz and fusion to folk and soul. But growing up in rural North Devon, Emma didn’t discover jazz until the age of 15, and didn’t pick up a tenor saxophone until a year later, but had spent her childhood otherwise immersed in largely folk and classical music. She is a natural performer. Her music has a unique sound, fusing all her many influences, and her compositions range from lilting Afro Cuban-inspired grooves to hard-hitting modern jazz and funk numbers.


Listen to Emma Rawicz new single Voodoo, from her forthcoming debut album:

Emma Rawicz is an award winning young saxophonist and composer, already making waves on the UK music scene. She has also created a name for herself both as a bandleader and a sideman. A new arrival on the scene, she has already made an impact, regularly playing at major London jazz venues with a wide range of established musicians. Emma is a recipient of the 2021 Drake Yolanda Award.


Watch below video to Emma Rawicz new single Voodoo, from her forthcoming debut album:

Other wicked songs and projects worth checking this week:


Sélène Saint-Aimé - Arawak Uhuru

Anne Paceo - Reste un oiseau

Jas Kayser, Ava Joseph - Darkness In The Light

Nick Walters - Cosmos

Helge Lien Trio - Gamut Warning Revisited

Alina Bzhezhinska, HipHarpCollective - Soul Vibrations

E.J. Strickland - Language Of The Unheard

Chelsea Carmichael - Fractuals

Christian McBride - Brouhaha

Joanne Brackeen - Cram 'N Exam

Vega Trails - Epic Dream


GoGo Penguin - Ascent

Cito Kaling, young.vishnu, Pachakuti - Phantasma

Gianni Brezzo - Il Sole

Nicola Conte, Gianluca Petrella - Inner Light Joaquin Joe Claussell Sacred Rhythm

Fieh - Fast Food

Redtenbacher's Funkestra - Squid Exit Music - 7 radio edit

Kresten Osgood - Når lyset bryder frem

Flammer Dance Band - Den Hvite By


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *