www.thewickedsound.com Jacob Collier Tiny Desk

Jacob Collier visited NPR Tiny Desk Studio

Jacob Collier is an English singer, arranger, composer, producer, and multi-instrumentalist based in London, England. In 2012, his homemade split-screen video covers of popular songs, such as Stevie Wonder’s “Don’t You Worry ’bout a Thing”, began to go viral on YouTube.

He recently visited my favorite concert venue – NPR Tiny Desk Studio, to promote his latest album ‘Djesse vol.2’. “It just feels like such a tremendous, ridiculous honor to sit behind this hallowed desk,” he said.

[embedyt] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vPBirt1YhuM[/embedyt]

Collier’s style fuses elements of jazz, a cappella, groove, folk, electronic music, classical music, gospel, soul and improvisation, and often features extreme use of reharmonization. In 2014, Collier signed to Quincy Jones’ management company.

On 1 January 2018, Collier began working on Djesse, an ambitious four-volume, 40-song album. It’s been described as a “journey through every musical genre under the sun”, featuring more than two dozen artists and ensembles. Djesse is being released over 4 volumes of new music over the next several months.

Djesse – Volume 2 finds Jacob continuing his thrilling exploration of different musical worlds. Where Volume 1 (released in December 2018) found Jacob delving into the limitlessness of orchestral music, Volume 2 focuses on the intimacy and closeness of acoustic music.

Djesse – Volume 2 will feature several collaborators from across genres and generations. Jacob welcomed artists including Lianne La Havas, dodie, Oumou Sangaré, MARO, Sam Amidon, Kathryn Tickell, and Becca Stevens (she played with him as well at NPR Tiny Desk Concert).

[embedyt] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Ed-LrvRQx0[/embedyt]

The first single from Djesse Vol. 2, “Make Me Cry”, was released on April 2019. A few days later artist released a cover of The Beatles’ song “Here Comes The Sun” in collaboration with Dodie Clark.
In June things went crazy, he released an a cappella arrangement of “Moon River” by Henry Mancini and Johnny Mercer with over a hundred vocal contributions from family members, mentors, friends, and other Djesse collaborators.
The fourth and final single from Djesse Vol. 2, “It Don’t Matter” featuring vocals of American singer-songwriter JoJo was released on 5 July 2019.

Djesse (Vol. 2) was released on 19 July 2019, featuring musical collaborations with Lianne La Havas, Oumou Sangaré, Chris Thile, Sam Amidon, Steve Vai, Kathryn Tickell, Becca Stevens, & MARO.

ARTIST: Jacob Collier
ALBUM: Djesse vol.2
RECORD LABEL: Geffen Records
YEAR: 2019
GENRE: jazz, a cappella, groove, folk, electronic music, classical music, gospel, soul, improvisation

01. Intro (Ft. Kathryn Tickell)
02. Sky Above
03. Bakumbe (Ft. Sam Amidon)
04. Make Me Cry
05. Moon River
06. Feel (Ft. Lianne La Havas)
07. À Noite (Interlude)
08. Lua (Ft. MARO)
09. I Heard You Singing (Ft. Becca Stevens & Chris Thile)
10. It Don’t Matter (Ft. JoJo)
11. Here Comes The Sun (Ft. dodie)
12. Dun Dun Ba Ba (Interlude)
13. Nebaluyo (Ft. Oumou Sangare)
14. Do You Feel Love (Ft. Steve Vai)
15. Outro
16. Time To Rest Your Weary Head


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.