www.thewickedsound.com Tom Misch Yussef Dayes What Kina Music
Featured releases,  Jazz,  News,  Soul

Tom Misch and Yussef Dayes released a first collaborative single “What Kinda Music”

Tom Misch and Yussef Dayes released a first collaborative single “What Kinda Music” and its accompanying music video. The song is a lead single from their forthcoming album “What Kinda Music”. The album will come out on April 24 via Beyond The Groove /Blue Note Records.

In the title track “What Kinda Music,” we can here typical sounds of both collaborators mixed into an interesting fusion of jazz, cinematic sounds, electronica, ambient music, and hip-hop. On top of that sound is still Misch’s soulful voice and Dayes’s exceptional drumming.

Yussef Dayes is one of the UK's most exciting and innovative young drummers and producers. Best known for his work, alongside Kamaal Williams, in now-defunct duo Yussef Kamaal, and also for work with his brothers in United Vibrations. Last year he released wonderful “Duality”, with his regular collaborators Charlie Stacy and Rocco Palladino on keys and bass respectively. The record combines two new tracks “For My Ladies” and “Othello”.

South Londoner Tom Misch is a multi-instrumentalist and producer, who has always admitted the influence of jazz on his work. He fuses low-slung hip-hop beats, glittering disco, and noodling jazz instrumentation. Tom collaborated with Michael Kiwanuka, FKJ, Loyle Carner, Detroit Swindle, Jordan Rakei and De La Soul. His DIY approach has built a fanbase of 2.5 million monthly listeners on Spotify.

Tom first saw Yussef on the drums at a school talent show when he was 9 years old. They officially met at a party for Misch’s “Geography” release. They went on tour together, and whoever followed their social media accounts probably have seen already videos of phenomenal rehearsals they did together. They made me hungry for their collaborative efforts, a starter in the form of first single works well, and the main meal is coming out on the 24th of April in the most prestigious jazz label in the world.

Misch said: “Yussef comes from a more experimental background, and he has a lot of loose, crazy ideas. I know how to write a catchy melody, but with interesting chords and I have a good understanding of popular song forms, so I think I streamlined those ideas and made them accessible."

The album contains the 12 compositions, and some special guests, Freddie Gibbs on the track “Nightrider,” along with Rocco Palladino on “Lift Off” and Kaidi Akinnibi on “Storm Before the Calm.”

The album “What Kinda Music” will be out on April 24 via Blue Note Records. Pre order/buy it here.

Tom Misch & Yussef Dayes – “What Kinda Music?” tracklist:

  1. What Kinda Music
  2. Festival
  3. Nightrider (feat. Freddie Gibbs)
  4. Tidal Wave
  5. Sensational
  6. The Real
  7. Lift Off (feat Rocco Palladino)
  8. I Did it For You
  9. Last 100
  10. Kyiv
  11. Julie Mangos
  12. Storm Before the Calm (feat Kaidi Akinnibi)

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *