www.thewickedsound.com Takuya Kuroda Change Fly Moon Die Soon
Featured releases,  Fresh sounds,  Funk,  Jazz,  News,  Soul

Takuya Kuroda announces a new album “’Fly Moon Die Soon” and shares his first single “Change” with Corey King.

Takuya Kuroda announces a new album “'Fly Moon Die Soon” and shares his first single “Change” with Corey King. Takuya Kuroda is a  highly-respected trumpeter, is a forward-thinking musician that has developed a unique hybrid sound, blending classic groovy hard-bop, post-bop, soulful jazz, contemporary funk, fusion and hip hop music. The album consists of nine tracks, seven original compositions, and two classics Ohio Players “Sweet Sticky Thing” featuring Alina Engibaryan on vocals, and Herbie Hancock “Tell Me A Bedtime Story”. For this record Takuya Kuroda freed himself from the constraints of standard tracking with a live band and made hearty use of beats, sampling, overdubs, and other studio magic while also inviting musicians into the studio periodically to collaborate, keeping the collaborative and rough-edged spirit intact.

After first listen of the album ended up straight on my personal “best albums of 2020”. It’ s great music, from soul-jazz to funk-jazz through beats, great grooves, heavy basslines and unique sound of Takuya’s trumpet. This album is a must.

Watch below a video to Takuya Kuroda feat Corey King new song “Change”, the first single from his forthcoming album “'Fly Moon Die Soon”:

Takuya Kuroda has come a long way from his early forays into jazz. Born and raised in Ashiya, a coastal city located between Kobe and Osaka, he has been a resident of New York for the past 15 years, and now channels the energy of both cultures. Takuya is already incredibly prolific, releasing five albums in the past decade and fortifying a solid reputation in the global jazz scene. 2011 saw the release of Takuya's independently-produced debut album, "Edge", followed by "Bitter and High" the following year and "Six Aces" on P-Vine in 2013.

After touring and recording with Jose James, Takuya was signed to the legendary Blue Note Records in 2014 for his José James produced album "Rising Son", as well as appearing on their 2019 cover versions project, "Blue Note Voyage". He released his 5th album "Zigzagger" on Concord in 2016, which also featured Antibalas on a reimagining of the Donald Byrd classic "Think Twice". He recently worked on Ross McHenry's “Nothing Remains Unchanged” LP on First Word Records and appeared on Alfa Mist and Richard Spaven released debut EP of their enigmatic project 44th Move.

From our Blog: Alfa Mist and Richard Spaven released debut EP of their enigmatic project 44th Move

“This is how the process of the full album started. Everything was based on my beats I made at home, inviting musicians in one by one, adding or replacing parts. I was very careful when developing these tracks; just note by note, part by part. I wanted to make the music effectively from a blend of two different recording methods; one very slickly produced part and one very organic part played by live musicians. I remember mixtapes from when I was kid, and wanted to make an album that wasn't just a bunch of flashy singles, trying to catch people's attention in the first 30 seconds, or full of guest features. Instead, I'm essentially just trying to let the grooves breath", Takuya said.

Listen below to Takuya Kuroda feat Corey King new song “Change”, the first single from his forthcoming album “'Fly Moon Die Soon”:

Takuya Kuroda new album “'Fly Moon Die Soon” will come out 18 September 2020, via First Word Records


Takuya Kuroda: Trumpet, Flugelhorn, Percussion, Keyboards, Beats, Moog Bass, Rhodes, Vocals
Corey King: Vocals, Trombone
Craig Hill, Tomoaki Baba: Tenor Saxophone
Takeshi Ohbayashi, Chris McCarthy: Keyboards
Rashaan Carter, Solomon Dorsey, Burniss Earl Travis II, Yasushi Nakamura, Todd Carder: Bass
Adam Jackson, Zach Mullings: Drums
Takahiro Izumikawa: Rhodes
Saotoshi Yoshida, Ryo Ogihara: Guitar
Keita Ogawa: Percussion
Manami Kakudo, Alina Engibaryan, Paola Arcieri: Vocals


01. Fade
02. ABC
03. Change
04. Do No Why
05. Fly Moon Die Soon
06. Moody
07. Sweet Sticky Things
08. Tell Me A Bedtime Story
09. TKBK

Other wicked songs and projects worth checking this week:


Danalogue, Sarathy Korwar - Inner Space

Tigran Hamasyan - New Maps

Zara McFarlane - Everything Is Connected

Poppy Ajudha - Watermelon Man (Under The Sun)

Christian Sands - Crash

Nubya Garcia feat Ms MAURICE, Cassie Kinoshi, Richie Seivwright - Source

Lianne La Havas - Please Don't Make Me Cry

Ego Ella May - Girls Don't Always Sing About Boys - A COLORS ENCORE

The Bahama Soul Club, Josephine Nightingale - Mercy Me

The Allergies - Get Yourself Some

Makaya McCraven - Mak Attack

Mammal Hands - Chaser

Ledisi - Where I Am

Her Songs (Marie Dahlstrom, Emmavie, Emily C. Browning, Dani Murcia, The Naked Eye) - Just My Luck

Joshua Redman, Brad Mehldau, Brian Blade, Christian McBride - Floppy Diss

Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers - Close Your Eyes

Saxappeal - The Song That's Called...

Samora Pinderhughes - In July

Timewarp Inc, Georges Perin - Theory of Revolution - Jay Papa Remix

Red Astaire, STEIN - Everybody Feel Irie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *