Featured releases,  Fresh sounds,  Jazz,  News

Joe Downard released his debut album “Seven Japanese Tales” promoted by songs “Terror” and “A Portrait Of Shunkin”.

Joe Downard released his debut album “Seven Japanese Tales” promoted by songs “Terror” and “A Portrait Of Shunkin”The album was written as a suite, comprised of 7 pieces inspired by seven short stories by writer Junichiro Tanizaki featured in “Seven Japanese Tales”. The music features a range of moods and dynamics supported by soundscapes, analogue electronics and acoustic sextet. Joe Downard is a member of London quintet Waaju, which just released their second album on Olindo Records.

From our blog: Uk jazz outfit Waaju released a new single “Listening Glasses” 

The album features five other rising stars of the London scene Alex Hitchcock on tenor sax, James Copus on trumpet, Will Barry on piano, Rupert Cox on synths and Felix Ambach on drums.

From our Blog: AuB “Not Jazz” is the new collaboration between the two young saxophonists, Tom Barford and Alex Hitchcock.

And also: When the Music Drops – New Music Selection June 2020 part 1: Gary Bartz & Maisha, Tenderlonious, Hania Rani & more

Watch below the video to Joe Downard two new songs “Terror” and “A Portrait Of Shunkin” from his debut album “Seven Japanese Tales”:

“This is a suite of music named and inspired by a collection of short stories by the great 20th -century Japanese writer Jun'ichirō Tanizaki. Narratives and characters are expressed through interweaving melodies that echo both within individual pieces and improvised passages, and throughout the music as a whole, creating a thread for the listener to follow over the course of the suite”, Joe explained his inspirations.

The album explores Joe Downard’s interest in Japanese literature and features seven compositions, each named after one of the stories. His musical inspiration is ranging from Radiohead and James Blake through Messiaen and Ambrose Akinmusire. “Seven Japanese Tales” features an augmented sextet lineup, including electronic elements and field recordings from Downard’s travels in Japan.

Listen below to Joe Downard two new songs “Terror” and “A Portrait Of Shunkin” from his debut album “Seven Japanese Tales”:

Joe Downard new album “Seven Japanese Tales” come out via Ubuntu Music on 12th June 2020.



Alex Hitchcock - tenor sax,

James Copus - trumpet,

Will Barry - piano,

Rupert Cox - synths

Felix Ambach - drums.



1. A Portrait Of Shunkin

2. Terror

3. Bridge of Dreams

4. The Tattooer

5. Aguri 07:33

6. The Thief

7. A Blind Man's Tale         

Other wicked songs and projects worth checking this week:

Zara McFarlane - Black Treasure / Future Echoes

Joe Downard - Terror / A Portrait Of Shunkin

Graham Costello STRATA - Cyngus / Lyra

Ego Ella MayGive A Little / How Long 'Til We're Home

Prince Fatty, Shniece McMenamin and Horseman - Take Me As I Am

Hoodna Orchestra - Sof Layla (Ba Hoodna)

Jimmy Heath - Con Alma

Koma Saxo - Koma Mate

Ryan Porter - Madiba / Strasbourg St. Denis - Live

GoGo Penguin - Open

Mecca:83 - The Cypher

Leon Bridges, Terrace Martin - Sweeter

Jorja Smith - Rose Rouge

RoRo - Black - Palace of Me

Jo Kaiat, Noam David, Avishai Cohen - Koreduga la joie

Kahil El'Zabar, David Murray - Necktar

Kansas Smitty's - Temple of Bel

Chronixx, Kabaka Pyramid - Same Prayer

Mulatu Astatke, Black Jesus Experience - Mascaram Setaba

Nikitch, Kuna Maze - Francis' Theme

Detroit Swindle, Jitwam - Coffee in the Morning - Radio Edit


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *